Roadrunners 5K – Week of May 5, 2014

Finally, it seems that my right shin/tendon is no longer something I have to work at daily to maintain. The time off seems to have done the trick and I’m back on the road and enjoying the nice weather. Here’s a look at how the past week shaped up:

Monday: Continued rest. Since last Sunday’s marathon, I’ve only run 3 miles.

Tuesday: 4 miles moderate w/ strides and drills (6:33/mile).

Wednesday: 6 miles moderate (6:29/mile).

Thursday: 14 miles w/ 10x1km track intervals (400m or 2:00 jog recoveries). Tried to run these between 3:10-3:15 but that was a bit of a stretch and some of the intervals suffered compared to if I had aimed a bit slower. Splits: 3:13, 3:09, 3:15, 3:15, 3:19, 3:17, 3:20, 3:17, 3:23, 3:18. The plan next time is to aim for 3:15/km and hopefully the splits will be a bit more consistent over the workout. I did this workout with a friend and we took turns leading intervals so my slower splits are when I was following and allowed myself to fall off pace…

Friday: 10 miles moderate (6:21/mile).

Saturday: Roadrunners 5K race including warm-up and a 12 mile ‘cool-down’ jog home from the park.

I was thinking (based on the 16:42 5K split I ran in my last 10K race) that I should be able to go a bit faster than 16:42 this time. I thought 16:15 (3:15/km) might be doable but then that’s ‘only’ 15 seconds away from 15:xx! I got greedy and decided to go for it, hoping that if I blew up I’d have built a bit of a buffer to still hit my secondary goal of 16:15.

Well, nothing went to plan. I ran 3:12 for the first km (on pace) and then 3:15 for the second. By this point I knew 15:xx wasn’t happening which was kind of demotivating. For the remaining 3 km, I ran 3:22, 3:30, and 3:25 for a total time around 16:46. So that was a bit of a bummer but it served as a good reminder for me that I shouldn’t expect improvements to come easily every time. I need to be a little more realistic with my goals.

Sunday: 10 miles easy w/ strides (6:52/mile).

In total, I ran around 60 miles this week and I’m feeling better than I have for the last two months. I’m looking forward to some hard workouts over the next few weeks and being able to enjoy this nice summer weather!

2 thoughts on “Roadrunners 5K – Week of May 5, 2014

Leave a Reply

