Week 11/18 for Hamilton Marathon

My focus for this week was to recover quickly following the Springbank half marathon last week, nail my two workouts later in the week, and get in decent mileage before I reign things in a bit next week in preparation for the Zoo Run 10K. Things didn’t go according to plan as my left calf has me (still) not running.

I was pretty sore after the race on Sunday. Monday was slow moving but I was feeling mostly better by Tuesday. I had a little bit of pain in the medial side of my left shin (more than usual), so I was working on that with the foam roller and some icing. On Wednesday, I didn’t have a lot of free time so I chose more sleep instead of a run, thinking that my legs would probably appreciate it before a hard workout on Thursday. My first workout went okay but my left side still didn’t feel 100%. The outer side of my left calf started to feel very sore by the end of the week such that I didn’t run Friday or Saturday. Instead, I did some stretching and massage. I had another workout planned for Sunday but by Saturday evening my left leg was on fire. At the time, I wasn’t sure if it was a muscle or tendon, but the fact that it burned when I pressed on the area prompted me to take some time off.

I’m hoping this clears up for Tuesday but if not I’ll try to get in another physio session. Here’s how this week looked:

M: 8 miles recovery.
Tu: [AM] 8 miles easy with 4x 30-second strides. [PM] 4.1 miles recovery with my son in the jogging stroller.
W: Rest
Th: 14.4 miles with 6 mile warmup, 3x 1 mile intervals @ 5:10, 5:16, 5:20 with 800m recovery jogs, 3 mile cooldown. [XT] Physio session at Archway.
F: [XT] 30 min yoga and 15 min core.
Sa: [XT] 60 min foam roller and self-massage on left calf.
Su: Rest

Total: 34.5 miles

3 thoughts on “Week 11/18 for Hamilton Marathon

  1. Aaron, I truly believe this “forced rest” will serve you well. Lots of guys build in these “cut-back” weeks throughout their training cycle and I believe in that. You just will have done yours in back to back weeks. No problem. Focus on those extra speed sessions next week and blast that 10k on the weekend. Can’t wait to see how fast you go.

    • Thanks! I’m trying to limit use of my left leg as much as possible and RICE-ing when I can. If out of the next 7 weeks I can get in 4 big weeks with quality, I’ll be happy.

Leave a Reply

